I Must Write

I write as I must
I write because I must write
I cannot wait till tomorrow – will be too late

Tender shoots springing up cannot be ignored
The strains of words I hear must grow louder
Till the notes and poems are brought to life

I cling to new indelible thoughts
I hold fast passing waves of notions
I prod the swollen stream of ideas
That burst open soon as I will to write

The shores of my intellect teem
With graceful curvature of verse upon verse,
Totally free and green
Decked with wonderful inspiration;
Comforting and uplifting.

I therefore must write, if not for myself,
To produce new thoughts as fresh fruits of a tree;
Then at least to complement the voices of other writers
Welling up in this wide ocean of creative writing.

Leave a Reply

