Night Writer

I write often in the night (my juices seem to flow better then) and really enjoy the quietness that gives me a chance to ponder words, phrases and meaning without interruption. Here is a piece I got at such a time. Enjoy!

I write in the strange hours of night
When sleep eludes my poor eyelids
And dreams disturb my sleepless mind
Rummaging the box of my sub-conscious side

I wake up steeped with heavy thoughts
Of what to write and what to scribe
Hunger knots my stomach, though
But still I push myself to write

I scribble words and launch half sentence
Scurrying through my conscious side
“I’m now alert enough,” I think
To pen a word afore I sleep.

Leave a Reply

